August 2, 2022 minutes

Cheatham County Democratic Party

Regular Monthly Meeting

August 2, 2022

Pinnacle Financial Partners, 524 S. Main St, Ashland City, TN 37015


Present: Aric Storck(P), Elena Roser (VP), Martha Wettemann (S), Lynn Newcomb (PP). Dist 1: Roger Marriott. Dist 2: Mathew Binkley, Ken Rawn.  Dist. 3: Lynn Seifert, Lisa Walker. Dist. 4: Dennis Barnes. Dist. 5: Joanne Jaworski, Beth Ervin, Kathryn Mitchell.

Excused: John Patrick (VP), Dist. 1- Galen Gray. Dist. 3 – Ryan Philipp. Dist. 5: Randy Fiedler. Dist 6.- Jan Morrison, Gerald Dooley.  Absent: Karen Stell (T).

Guests: Krystle James.

Committees: (committees are not limited to the Executive Committee):

Advocacy Committee: Martha Wettemann (chair), Rick Johnson, John Patrick, Linda McGee.

Elections Committee: Elena Roser (chair), Kathryn Mitchem (phone banking), John Patrick, Martha Wettemann, Jan Morrison.

Events Committee (including Forums): Randy Fiedler (chair), Michael Lottman, Roger Marriott, Lynn Newcomb, Ryan Philipp (event planning/coordination), Karen Stell, Linda McGee.

Social/Print Media: Michael Lottman (print chair), Karen Stell (web site chair)(advocacy posting on web site), Beth Ervin (social media).

Nominating: L. Newcomb, Elena Roser (co-chairs). Membership/recruitment- Ryan Philipp.

Federation of Democratic Women:  Lynn Newcomb (chair), Joanne Jaworski.

Call to order: Chair A.  Storck called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Minutes and Agenda for the Meeting. Motion by D. Barnes/E. Roser to accept the minutes that were distributed by email. The motion carried.  No motion was made on the agenda.

Treasurer’s Report: The treasurer was absent. The checking account reconciliation detail showed a balance of $3,659.13 as of 7/31/2022.

Chair’s Report:  A. Storck reported that the Ashland City Music on Main Event (held on Main Street this year instead of in Riverfront Park) will be on October 1. (A straw poll was done by which it was decided we will have 2 booths).  He discussed the importance of Democratic messaging at the event, which will be the “last big touch point” before the election. We need definitive talking points, such as how the Republican Party has harmed the nation. Issues could include what has happened since Roe vs. Wade to women’s health, veterans’ benefits, keeping public dollars in public education, etc. He issued this assignment for all of the Executive Committee: Do your research and create a sign to share at the September meeting.

Committee Reports

Events Committee: Upcoming community events include the County Fair (starting August 16), Pegram’s 50th Birthday (September 17, 4:30 to 9:30 at Pegram Park), and Pleasant View in the Park (September 24).

Elections Committee: There will be a gathering at the County Courthouse as the votes come in on August 4. All are invited. CCDP will go afterwards to the Marrowbone.

The candidates discussed their campaigns. E. Roser said we need people to text/email in the Democratic vote count to TNDP on election night as soon as the polls close. Volunteers for the 9 polls included J. Patrick, M. Binkley, Larry McConnell, D. Barnes, M. Wettemann, J. Jowarski, R. Fiedler, B. Ervin, and Donna Baxter. J. Jaworski will be a poll watcher for the 5th District polls (3 precincts). Other members will distribute signs to the polls.

  1. Walker has been texting and calling, and also is at the District 3 poll. Phone calling continues for L. Walker and E. Roser. Krystle and Dylan James will start door knocking; a mailing is planned. E. Roser can help with mailing; M. Wettemann with turfs for canvassing. Krystle reports that housing and health care are key issues.

Adjournment: A motion was made by K. Mitchem/R. Marriott to adjourn. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.

Submitted by Martha Wettemann, Secretary.

August 19, 2022

Note: After the July 5 meeting, resignations were received from Rick Johnson, Michael Lottman, and Linda McGee.