July 5, 2022 minutes

Cheatham County Democratic Party

Regular Monthly Meeting

July 5, 2022

Pinnacle Financial Partners, 524 S. Main St, Ashland City, TN 37015


Present: John Patrick (VP), Elena Roser (VP), Martha Wettemann (S), Karen Stell (T), Lynn Newcomb (PP). Dist 1: Galen Gray, Roger Marriott. Dist 2: Mathew Binkley.  Dist. 3: Ryan Philipp, Lynn Seifert, Lisa Walker. Dist. 4: Linda McGee, Dennis Barnes. Dist. 5: Randy Fiedler, Joanne Jaworski, Beth Ervin.  Dist. 6: Jan Morrison, Gerald Dooley.

Excused: Aric Storck (P), Karen Stell (T), Dist. 5: Kathryn Mitchem.

Guests: Krystle James, Ken Rawn, Cassandra Martin (Ashland City), Bob Eisensohn (Ashland City), Jill Nelson (Joelton), Larry McConnell (Pleasant View).

Committees: (committees are not limited to the Executive Committee):

Advocacy Committee: Martha Wettemann (chair), Rick Johnson, John Patrick, Linda McGee.

Elections Committee: Elena Roser (chair), Kathryn Mitchem (phone banking), John Patrick, Martha Wettemann, Jan Morrison.

Events Committee (including Forums): Randy Fiedler (chair), Michael Lottman, Roger Marriott, Lynn Newcomb, Ryan Philipp (event planning/coordination), Karen Stell, Linda McGee.

Social/Print Media: Michael Lottman (print chair), Karen Stell (web site chair)(advocacy posting on web site), Beth Ervin (social media).

Nominating: L. Newcomb, Elena Roser (co-chairs). Membership/recruitment- Ryan Philipp.

Federation of Democratic Women:  Lynn Newcomb (chair), Joanne Jaworski.

Call to order: Vice Chair Elena Roser called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Minutes and Agenda for the Meeting. Since there was not a quorum at the last meeting, there were no official minutes to vote on.

Treasurer’s Report: No report as treasurer was absent, having prepared and commandeered the float in the Pegram 4th of July parade the previous day.

Committee Reports

Advocacy Committee: The report was presented by M. Wettemann (see attached), discussing topics including the Dobbs (Roe vs. Wade) Supreme Court decision and the TN trigger law, gun violence, and other issues endangering women’s health under Tennessee laws. J. Patrick reported that the county budget passed with a $4200 pay raise for teachers. Gov. Lee is pushing education privatization and charter schools. The Committee agreed that communication about meetings in the fall with the TN Public Education advocacy group could go out to our members.

Elections Committee: The ballot for August 4 includes a county general and a state Democratic and Republican primary. Ask for the Democratic ballot at the poll.

The candidates discussed their campaigns. E. Roser discussed her plans including an event at the Braxton planned for July 7. She is sending out postcards, doing door to door, phone banks and events.  L. Walker asked for volunteers to distribute door hangers in Pleasant View.  K. James is doing social media posts, digital marketing, phone calls, and lots of events.

A sign-up sheet was distributed for phone banks on July 14, 21, and 28 and for volunteering for distributing door hangers in Pleasant View. Virtual phone banks will be set up to call from home. R. Fiedler will work at the poll on Election Day for E. Roser.

  1. Patrick reported on other candidates we are supporting including Margie Jarrell, Judge Maxey, and Chrissy Duke Henderson. J. Patrick is the only candidate on the ballot for District 1 School Board.

Social/Print Media Committee: L. Newcomb reported that we have about 280 names on our CCDP newsletter list with at 25 to 30% open rate (very good), and that our Facebook page is fairly active. She will prepare a newsletter for next weekend.

Events Committee: Thanks to everyone who helped with Summerfest and July 4 at Pegram!

Membership/Recruitment: R. Philipp reported on the IT applications of Mobilize and Mini-Van. He felt Mobilize was more appropriate for a larger organization but the Mini-Van (used for door to door canvassing) was easy to set up and connects directly with Votebuilder and could be very helpful.

New Business: A motion was made by M. Wettemann/L. Seifert that Ken Rawn be appointed to the Cheatham County Executive Committee as a District 2 representative. The motion carried.

Adjournment: A motion was made by L. Newcomb/R. Fiedler to adjourn. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Submitted by Martha Wettemann, Secretary.

July 26, 2022

Update: Subsequent to the meeting, resignations were received from Rick Johnson, Michael Lottman, and Linda McGee.