September 7, 2021 minutes

Cheatham County Democratic Party

Regular Monthly Meeting

September 7, 2021 at Pinnacle Bank, Ashland City.


Present: Aric Storck (P), John Patrick (VP), Elena Roser (VP), Martha Wettemann (S), Karen Stell (T), Lynn Newcomb (PP). Dist. 1, Prec. 1: Galen Gray, Rick Johnson, Roger Marriott.  Dist. 3: Ryan Philipp. Dist. 4: Linda McGee. Dist. 5: Randy Fiedler. Dist. 6: Prec. 6-1:  Gerald Dooley, Michael Lottman.

Absent and excused: (all absent were excused due to 1 day meeting notice) Dist. 2, Prec. 2-2: Peggy Gilgore, Randy Baker, Jack Kilgore. Dist. 4: Dennis Barnes. Dist. 5, Prec. 5-2.  Joanne Jaworski, Beth Ervin. Dist.6 Jan Morrison.

Guests: Kathryn Mitchem.

Committee Volunteers: (committees are not limited to the Executive Committee):

Advocacy Committee: Martha Wettemann, Rick Johnson, John Patrick

Elections Committee: Elena Roser, Kathryn Mitchem (phone banking), John Patrick, Martha Wettemann

Events Committee (including Forums): Randy Fiedler, Michael Lottman, Roger Marriott, Lynn Newcomb, Ryan Philipp (event planning/coordination), Karen Stell

Social/Print Media: Michael Lottman (print), Ryan Philipp (web site, other tech needs), Karen Stell (web site)(advocacy posting on web site)

Nominating: L. Newcomb, Elena Roser

Federation of Democratic Women:  Lynn Newcomb

Call to order: Chair A. Storck  called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Attendance: A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes and Agenda for the Meeting:  A motion was made by R. Marriott/R. Johnson to accept the minutes as written. The motion carried.

Treasurer’s Report: K. Stell reported the current balance of $3,620.63 in our account. She plans to set up internet banking. For signature cards to be filled out for new officers, they need to bring a copy of the Convention minutes showing their election to the Executive Committee. Chair Storck included a QR code on the agenda  that goes directly to the Act Blue web site.

Chair’s Report: Chair A. Storck recognized Lynn Newcomb and Roger Marriott for their roles as Chair and Treasurer and thanked them for their service.

As requested by Chair Storck,  Board members introduced themselves and later filled out cards to indicate their interests in CCDP activities and committees.

After discussion, a motion was made by M. Wettemann/ G. Dooley to have Lynn Seifert approved as the second Pleasant View District 3 representative. The motion carried.

Social Print Media Committee:   L. Newcomb reported that Krystle James wrote an article stating political primaries were not needed. It was printed in the Pleasant View Post (online) and the Cheatham County Exchange. The only other paper in the county is the Ashland City Times.  L. Newcomb said we need to write an article on the new officers of the CC Democratic Executive Committee. Secretary Wettemann volunteered to assist.

Election Committee: Ashland City Council elections will be held on December 4, 2021  for 4 year terms for one council member in each of the Wards 1, 2, and 3. To date, Tony Young, former director of parks and recreation, has picked up papers to run in Ward 1. The incumbents up for election are:  Ward 2, Tim Atkins, the communications director of the CC School Board and former Ashland City Times editor; and Ward 3, Roger Jackson. (Ward 3 is north of Ashland City near Tractor Supply).  We need Democrats in these races. The current Council (except Gerald Greer) was not supportive of Caldwell Park improvements even using donated money.

Advocacy: E. Roser, Dr. James Powers, and Dr. Brenda Butka spoke in favor of mask mandates at the Cheatham County School Board meeting recently on August 31. A vote was not taken. However, improvements have been made at the Ashland City Elementary School. A list of protocols were sent to the schools and more social distancing was done after parents spoke up.  There is now a school dashboard regarding COVID.

Old Business:  The Music on Main event (Saturday October 9, 10 am to 6 pm) has been moved to Riverfront Park. We previously agreed to take part in this. The $ 50 entrance fee must be paid by September 28. We will do voter registration – we will also need an attraction and a message/ materials, as well as volunteers.  Will be discussed at the next meeting.

New Business: Chair Storck asked for someone to pick up the key and unlock the Pinnacle door for future meetings. R. Marriott agreed to do it. An email will be sent to board members as to their preferences for an online or in person next meeting.

Adjournment: R. Marriott/ L. Newcomb moved that we adjourn. The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 7:36 pm.


Submitted by Martha Wettemann, Secretary

Future Meeting Dates: (The first Tuesday of each month)  October 5, November 2, December 7.