April 5, 2022 minutes

Cheatham County Democratic Party

Regular Monthly Meeting

April 5, 2022, In Person at Pinnacle Bank


Present: Aric Storck (P)(later in meeting), John Patrick (VP), Martha Wettemann (S),  Lynn Newcomb (PP). Dist. 1, Prec. 1: Galen Gray, Rick Johnson. Dist. 3: Ryan Philipp, Lynn Seifert, Lisa Walker. Dist. 4: Linda McGee. Dist. 5, Joanne Jaworski, Randy Fiedler, Beth Ervin.   Dist. 6, Prec. 6-1: Gerald Dooley.

Excused: Elena Roser (VP), Karen Stell (T). Dist. 1: Roger Marriott. Dist. 2: Mathew Binkley.  Dist. 5: Kathryn Mitchem. Dist.6: Michael Lottman.  Absent: Dist. 4: Dennis Barnes. Dist. 6 Jan Morrison.

Guests:  Krystle James, Ken Rawn, Tom Moore, Neil Hillstrom.

Committees: (committee members are not limited to the Executive Committee):

Advocacy Committee: Martha Wettemann (chair), Rick Johnson, John Patrick, Linda McGee, Donna Baxter.

Elections Committee: John Patrick (chair), Kathryn Mitchem (phone banking), Martha Wettemann, Jan Morrison, Elena Roser.

Events Committee (including Forums): Randy Fiedler (chair), Michael Lottman, Roger Marriott, Lynn Newcomb, Ryan Philipp (event planning/coordination), Karen Stell, Linda McGee.

Social/Print Media: Michael Lottman (print chair), Karen Stell (web site chair)(advocacy posting on web site), Beth Ervin (social media).

Nominating: L. Newcomb, Elena Roser (co-chairs). Membership/recruitment- Ryan Philipp.

Federation of Democratic Women:  Lynn Newcomb (chair), Joanne Jaworski.

Call to order: Vice Chair J. Patrick called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Attendance and Approval of Minutes: A quorum was present. Motion by R. Philipp/L. Seifert to approve the minutes.  The motion was carried.

Approval of Agenda for the Meeting. Motion by L. Seifert/G. Gray that we approve the agenda.  The motion carried.  The agenda was to include committee meetings during the regular meeting, which would include the advocacy, elections, event, and nominating committees. Vice Chair J. Patrick said each committee could meet for 15 minutes. L. Newcomb/L. Walker moved to amend the agenda to not include committee meetings. The motion carried.

Treasurer’s Report: The treasurer was absent and excused. No treasurer’s report.

Committee Reports

Advocacy Committee:  M. Wettemann discussed the need for voter registration events. Information on the state laws and recommended procedures for voter registration were discussed at the TNDP Summit on April 2 to train county parties.

Events Committee:  Summerfest will be June 7-11; Pegram will have their 4th of July celebration. There was discussion about an all-candidate forum in July. A motion was made by R. Johnson/ and seconded that we purchase a double booth at Summerfest. The motion carried. A motion was made by R. Fiedler/G. Dooley that we pay for 2 booths at the Pegram July 4 celebration. The motion carried.

Elections Committee: J. Patrick (School Board District 1) and E. Roser (School Board District5)  both have write-in candidates in opposition. L. Walker has a Facebook page. Judge Maxey is running as an independent candidate. J. Patrick,  chair of the committee, agreed that a meeting would be held within the next week. He, L. Seifert, K. Rawn, E. Roser, and M. Wettemann planned to attend. The suggested date was April 13.

Social/Print Media Committee: L. Newcomb reported that the committee had a meeting with herself, R. Philipp, B. Ervin, and M. Wettemann to discuss how to reach out to more people. She can add emails and other contact information into her Mailchimp database.  R. Philipp requested people put the QR code he developed on any flyers so people can submit their contact information to him.

New Business


  1. Newcomb/R. Johnson moved to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

Submitted by Martha Wettemann, Secretary.

April 20, 2022

NEXT MEETING:  May 3, 6 p.m.