October 5, 2021 minutes

Cheatham County Democratic Party

Regular Monthly Meeting

October 5, 2021 (online).


Present: Aric Storck (P), John Patrick (VP), Elena Roser (VP), Martha Wettemann (S), Karen Stell (T), Lynn Newcomb (PP). Dist. 1, Prec. 1: Galen Gray, Rick Johnson.  Dist. 3: Ryan Philipp, Lynn Seifert.  Dist. 4: Linda McGee, Dennis Barnes.  Dist. 5, Prec, 1,2: Randy Fiedler, Joanne Jaworski, Beth Ervin.  Dist. 6, Prec. 6-1:  Jan Morrison, Michael Lottman.

Absent: Dist. 1, Prec. 1: Roger Marriott.  Dist. 2, Prec. 2-2: Peggy Gilgore, Randy Baker, Jack Kilgore. Dist.6: Gerald Dooley.

Committees: (committees are not limited to the Executive Committee):

Advocacy Committee: Martha Wettemann (chair), Rick Johnson, John Patrick, Linda McGee.

Elections Committee: Elena Roser (chair), Kathryn Mitchem (phone banking), John Patrick, Martha Wettemann

Events Committee (including Forums): Randy Fiedler (chair), Michael Lottman, Roger Marriott, Lynn Newcomb, Ryan Philipp (event planning/coordination), Karen Stell, Linda McGee.

Social/Print Media: Michael Lottman (print chair), Ryan Philipp (web site, other tech needs), Karen Stell (web site chair)(advocacy posting on web site)

Nominating: L. Newcomb, Elena Roser (co-chairs)

Federation of Democratic Women:  Lynn Newcomb (chair), Joanne Jaworski.

Call to order: Chair A. Storck called the meeting to order at 6:09 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Attendance: A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes and Agenda for the Meeting:  A motion was made by R. Johnson/E. Roser to approve the minutes and the agenda. The motion carried.

Treasurer’s Report: K. Stell reported the current balance of $3,815.29 in our account. She plans to set up Internet banking. She said that our ActBlue account brought in $1,000 last year with an average donation of $19.00. She signed up for a Music on Main booth, requesting electricity. Setup must start at 8 am on October 9, with booths ready by 10 AM.  Chair Storck included a QR code on the agenda that goes directly to the Act Blue web site.

Chair’s Report: Committees: A. Storck reported that based on the responses on cards from the last meeting, Executive Committee members had been tentatively assigned to committees (listed above). Members were asked to contact him if they wanted to be on different committees or join a committee. He asked about volunteers for committee chairs and the following people volunteered: L. Newcomb, Federation of Democratic Women; Advocacy, M. Wettemann; Elections, E. Roser; Nominating, L. Newcomb and E. Roser, co-chairs; K. Stell, Social Media- web site; Print Media- M. Lottman; R. Fieldler, Events. J. Jaworkski asked to be added to the Federation of Democratic Women.  Other members can be added to committees.

Three Star Dinner: A. Storck said the dinner will be at the Renaissance Hotel on October 30. Speakers include Congressman Conor Lamb and former senator Doug Jones from Alabama. Tickets are $150. The discount price for a county table of 8 is $800. Eight members indicated they/spouses plan to go: John Patrick and Rebecca Seelove, Aric and Sabrina Storck,  Lynn and Bill Seifert, and Martha Wettemann and Jim Powers.  After discussion, M. Wettemann/J. Patrick moved that CCDP spend $800 to reserve a table for the October 30 Three Star Dinner which will be paid back by these attendees and if there are more people interested we will seek a second table. Motion carried.

County Chairs Association: L. Newcomb agreed to be the 5th Congressional District chairperson. Chair Storck said that he will obtain information on using WebEx for our virtual meetings and that Votebuilder is being revamped to make it easier to use.

Events Committee: Music on Main-Chair A. Storck discussed logistics. R. Fieldler will pick up materials for the booth from L. Newcomb.  M. Wettemann and L. Newcomb created a flyer on Build Back Better for the booth. These members volunteered for set-up and staffing the booth:  Aric (2 hours), Ryan (2+ hours), Randy (10 hours?), Karen (2 hours), Elena (2 hours), Martha (2 hours), Joanne (2 hours). Linda also assisted.

Holiday Party: Possible formats for a party were discussed, keeping in mind that social distancing may still be needed. Ideas included an outside gathering at Riverview Marina or an informal gathering at Marrowbone Brewery (has 2 very large rooms, space for distancing, stage, PA system). Weekday or weekend to be discussed; Marrowbone closed Monday and Tuesday.

Holiday Animal Food Collection: R. Fiedler said help will be needed in Ashland City with picking up/storing food. L. McGee volunteered to assist, as well as J. Jaworkski who has a pickup truck and a basement storage area. Discussion to continue at next meeting.

Election Committee: E. Roser reported Ashland City Council elections will be held on December 4, 2021  for 4 year terms for one council member in each of the Wards 1, 2, and 3. Anthony Young, former director of parks and recreation, has qualified in Ward 1. The incumbents up for election are:  Ward 2, Tim Atkins, the communications director of the CC School Board and former Ashland City Times editor; and Ward 3, Roger Jackson. Others who have qualified: Jane Crisp, Nicole Binkley, and Kevin Thompson. M. Wettemann will check voting records. Work on these elections will be discussed at the next meeting.

Advocacy: J. Patrick reported the that Cheatham County School District will be applying for a grant from TVA for funding for a solar system to be set up at Sycamore Hish School- a 50 mg system with 4 Tesla power walls (battery backup). Wilmot Company is assisting with pricing.  This is a 70% grant and the 30% match has been secured. The grant is due October 30. Letters of support are being sought from Cumberland Electric, Rep. Jim Cooper, County Mayor McCarver, and U.S. Sen. Hagerty. This is an exciting development. J. Jaworkski volunteered to read/edit the grant if assistance is needed.

Social Print Media Committee- No report.

New Business: L. Newcomb was very pleased and moved to say that a few weeks after state Rep. John Ray Clemmons spoke at the August CCDP convention, he sent her a state flag that had flown over the state capitol.

Safe Haven Donation: It was discussed that there was a desire to make a donation to this fundraising event on October 19 due to this organization’s needed support for women. R. Fiedler/M.Wettemann moved that the CCDP donate $300 to Safe Haven and add whatever individuals donate. The motion carried.

Adjournment: D. Barnes/ L. Newcomb moved that we adjourn. The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 7:30 pm.


Submitted by Martha Wettemann, Secretary

Future Meeting Dates: (The first Tuesday of each month) November 2, December 7.

Post Meeting Committee Volunteer (Oct. 8):  Jan Morrison has volunteered to be on the Elections Committee.